Living versus Blogging: The Victoria Dilemma

A recent sunset I caught with a friend, or "I Could Have Been Blogging Instead, Exhibit 1." Think I made the right choice?

A recent sunset I caught with a friend, or “I Could Have Been Blogging Instead, Exhibit 1.” Think I made the right choice?

The old saying goes, you either work to live or you live to work. I do the former, but sometimes opportunities come rolling in that one would be a fool to pass up.

One such opportunity happened to land in this blogger’s lap, so I’ve been a little distracted.

When it comes to working 19 of 20 days straight, and having a few free moments in between, and living in a place like I live, when you’re given the choice of a) blogging or b) getting outside and enjoying the ocean, new spring growth, and the rest of the awesomeness around you, well, if blogging comes first, yer doin’ it wrong.

On the way back from an appointment, I decided I'd rather go see the petting zoo and all the baby goats. Or "I Could Have Been Blogging Instead, Exhibit 2." Think I made the right choice?

On the way back from an appointment, I decided I’d rather go see the petting zoo and all the baby goats. Or “I Could Have Been Blogging Instead, Exhibit 2.” Think I made the right choice?

So, despite my lack of writing for you, I have indeed been churning out life VanIsleStyle. I’ve been cycling. Played tour-god — I mean, tour-guide for a visiting friend of mine. I ate out a number of times, from Prima Strada Pizzeria to takeout Thai and Bent Mast Pub and Big Wheel Burger, and more. I shopped with artisanal merchants, explored craft beer, and caught up on sleep.
Sometimes, you gotta DO it instead of preach it, you know what I’m saying?

A trendy quote is, if you’re not living on the edge, you’re taking up too much space. The only time this is untrue is when you’re talking about living on the financial edge.

It’s been nice to have my recent opportunities unfurl because I’m a little less on that edge, and getting there’s been handily done during the last stretch of furious end-of-winter weather — lashings of windstorms and blustering rain. When one goes out for a beating from high winds and salt-streaked glasses after oceanside strolls, cheeks smarting from the gale-force winds, hands frozen for typing, it just gets a little wearying if it’s been four or five days, let alone three weeks of it.

A winetasting & food event I attended at Prima Strada Pizza, to learn about Syrah & Shiraz, or "I Could Have Been Blogging Instead, Exhibit 3." Think I made the right choice?

A winetasting & food event I attended at Prima Strada Pizza, to learn about Syrah & Shiraz, or “I Could Have Been Blogging Instead, Exhibit 3.” Think I made the right choice?

And now, here we are: the end of the crazy, and the first truly spring-like weekend of the year. Flowers are exploding all over town and little baby verdant leaves are peeping out of their buds. Shortly, the world will be entirely awash with sunshine, colour, and life.

Every now and then some small little thing happens to remind me winter is over, and I get goosebumps all over and shivers of delight. Like stepping into the sunny spot on the carpet to find it’s warm underfoot. Or touching a railing at the beach and instead of cold metal shocking me, it’s warm and pleasant to the touch.

It’s times like these past three weeks that I realize the difference of the lifestyle I’ve signed up for in my James Bay v2.0 world. I can work 11 hours, cook/clean 2 hours, sleep 8 hours, chill 90 minutes and spend 90 minutes taking in the ocean with only 20 minutes spent getting there — walking on foot past amazing gardens and turn-of-the-century character homes. You do the 11-hour-day thing, and I assure you, it wears pretty fucking thin pretty fucking fast.

A crazy long day, I had an errand to run in Cook Street Village at 6 and bought a burger & beer to eat on the bike ride home, where I just happened to linger for 90 minutes. Or "I Could Have Been Blogging Instead, Exhibit 4." Think I made the right choice?

A crazy long day, I had an errand to run in Cook Street Village at 6 and bought a burger & beer to eat on the bike ride home, where I just happened to linger for 90 minutes. Or “I Could Have Been Blogging Instead, Exhibit 4.” Think I made the right choice?

When you’re going nutty from overload, living 6 minutes from world-class coastlines is better than having a shrink on autodial with the bank account to pay for ‘im.

Life in Victoria costs more than I anticipated, but the return on my investment is amazing. I feel so fulfilled. I’m excited about spring. I’m inspired. I’m full of hope. I’m psyched to beat all hell. I’m dreaming of the places I’ll be visiting this summer — like vineyards, and cideries, and farms, and eateries. I’m imagining my biking trips, planning to join the local car-share for traveling opportunities, organizing a beer-drinking excursion to Port Angeles, Washington, and more.

There’s SO MUCH to see and do in this area, if you’re into just eating and drinking and touring your life away. If you’re into the ritzy night clubs and all that, maybe Vancouver’s your gig. I like the food-centered, nature-focused life I get over here, and I’ll be writing about plenty of it this summer. You just wait. I can’t wait! But you have to.

Soon, I’ll be writing about why Dallas Road is broken and needs a whole lot of TLC, and I’ll be telling you about a craft-beer day you can experience that includes breweries, eateries, and a little paddlesport in between. I’ll tell you about wine-tasting at Prima Strada, share with you a nice biking-park-eating-drinking tour you can do if you’ve got a bike and half a day to while away.

Welcome to spring, Van Isle Style!

A stormy afternoon with gales blasting 90km/hr, I just couldn't help taking the "long way" to the store. Or "I Could Have Been Blogging Instead, Exhibit 5." Think I made the right choice?

A stormy afternoon with gales blasting 90km/hr, I just couldn’t help taking the “long way” to the store. Or “I Could Have Been Blogging Instead, Exhibit 5.” Think I made the right choice?

Leave a Reply

